Richard Mahigan Scholarship Fund

The Richard Mahigan Scholarship is awarded annually to promote our Irish culture and heritage. This scholarship was started by the Mahigan Family to honor Richard who enjoyed all things Irish throughout his life.

Our Irish American culture is alive and well thanks to the Richard Mahigan family who initiated the scholarship fund in Richard’s memory. Thanks, also, to the generosity of club members, volunteers, local businesses, community organizations, Roman Catholic churches and all who have supported the fund by supporting our Festival.

In the past years our club has awarded the Mahigan Scholarship to many bright young stars - stars who are passionate about Irish music and culture and who help to advance the study of Irish culture.

Joseph Cobb Memorial Scholarship Fund

The members of the CCIAC are honored to establish a scholarship in the memory of Joseph Charles Cobb. Joe was a larger than life man who touched countless lives; a husband, a father, a mentor and a friend. Joe was a past CCIAC President and Festival Chairman for many years. He was a great leader who was very proud of being Irish. the purpose of the scholarship is to promote Irish culture in young people.

Scholarship Winners

Over the years our club has proudly awarded scholarships to the following: Montana Allen 2008, Delaney O’Shea 2009, Jennifer Guttierez 2010, Claire Gorman and Catherine Gorman and Shelby Morgan Ernst 2011, Alex Danzi -2012, Anna Clare McMahon (11), Charlotte Newell (18), and Paige Stevens (16), 2013. 2014 brought winners Margaret Lavoie, Sarah O'Sullivan, Shelby Seymour and Meagan Urbanek. In 2015, our winners were Bethany Namour, Carina Collins and Connor McCleverty,all Irish Step Dancers! In 2017 we had four excellent applications for our CCIAC-Mahigan Scholarship. The board voted to award all four applicants with a $500 scholarship. They include Emi Grace Kellum, Ashley Murphy, Emma See and Cameron Tovin. These young ladies through their Irish dance promote Irish culture which is the purpose of the club. In 2018 the winners were Madisyn Piglia , Lia Smith-Cedeno and Kaitlin Kelly Creedon also Irish Step dancers. The 2019 winners were Lillian Harris, Maya Senecharles & Claire Sequin

Scholarship Applicants Welcome

The amount of the scholarship is $500 and the winner(s) must submit their application for either the Mahigan or Cobb Scholarship before the end of each year. Scholarship(s) are awarded at the Irish Festival in March.

Applications may be downloaded here and mailed to the Cape Coral Irish American Club, Attention: Scholarship Committee, PO Box 101511, Cape Coral, FL 33910.

  • Facebook

Cape Coral Irish American Club

PO Box 101511

Cape Coral FL 33910

 © 2020 Cape Coral Irish American Club.

Web Design by Blue Heron Support